View full website


Tim Kennedy, B.App Sc (Geology), MBA, MAusIMM, MGSA - Independent Non-Executive Chairman (Appointed 13 December 2016, Chairman since 28 August 2018)

Mr Kennedy is a geologist with a successful 30-year career in the mining industry, including extensive involvement in the exploration, feasibility and development of gold, nickel, platinum group elements, base metals and uranium projects throughout Australia.  His most recent role was as exploration manager with Independence Group NL, which during his 11 years IGO grew from being a junior explorer to a multi commodity mining company.  In particular Mr Kennedy played a key role as part of the team that represented IGO on the exploration steering committee during the multi-million ounce Tropicana, Havana and Boston Shaker discoveries, the discovery of the Rosie magmatic nickel sulphide deposit; and the discovery of the Bibra orogenic gold deposit.

Prior to that Mr Kennedy held a number of senior positions with global miner Anglo America, including as Exploration manager - Australia, Principal Geologist/Team Leader - Australia and Principal Geologist.  He also held positions with Resolute Limited, Hunter Resources and PNC Exploration Pty Ltd.

During the past three years Mr Kennedy has also served as a director of Millennium Minerals Limited (director since 2 May 2016) and Helix Resources Limited (director since 16 February 2018).


Pip Darvall, MSc (Geology), MBA, (Managing Director since 1 February 2020)

Mr Darvall most recently served as Managing Director of ASX-listed explorer Jindalee Resources Limited  where his accomplishments include identifying and acquiring a significant new lithium project in the United States. He was previously Senior Geologist, then Exploration Manager, for Atlas Iron Limited, where he oversaw the rapid growth in Atlas’ resource base between 2010 and 2014, before starting his own consultancy company specializing in resource project evaluation and management.

During the past three years Mr Darvall was a director of Jindalee Resources Limited from 28 May 2018 to 31 December 2019.  

Craig Ian McGown

Craig Ian McGown, BComm, FCA, ASIA Non-Executive Director (Appointed 11 March 2015)(Chairman 11 March  2015 - 28 August 2018)

Mr McGown is an investment banker with over 40 years of experience consulting to companies in Australia and internationally, particularly in relation to fund raising and mergers and acquisitions in the natural resources sector. He holds a Bachelor of Commerce degree, was admitted as a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants and an Affiliate of the Financial Services Institute of Australasia in 1984. Mr McGown has been an executive director of the corporate advisory business New Holland Capital Pty Ltd (New Holland) since 2008 and prior to that appointment was the chairman of DJ Carmichael Pty Limited.

During the past three years Mr McGown has also served as the Non-Executive Chairman for Pioneer Resources Limited (13 June 2008 – present), a Non-Executive Director of Realm Resources Limited (31 May 2018 – present) and is the Chairman of the Harry Perkins Institute for Respiratory Health.  

Mr McGown is a member of the Nomination and Compensation Committee since his appointment on 11 March 2015.

Karen Lesley Field

Karen Lesley Field, B Ec FAICD – Senior Independent Non-Executive Director (Appointed 16 September 2004)

Mrs Field has over three decades of experience in the mining industry throughout Australia and overseas and has a strong background in strategy, project management and human resources. Mrs Field is currently a Non-Executive Director of Aurizon Holdings Limited (director from 19 April 2012) and has held Non-Executive directorships with the Water Corporation (Deputy Chairman), MACA Limited, Perilya Limited, Electricity Networks Corporation (Western Power) and The Centre for Sustainable Resource Processing.

In addition, Mrs Field is a Director of a number of community based organisations including the University of Western Australia’s Centenary Trust for Women and is Chair of the Perth College Foundation Inc.

Mrs Field is the Senior Independent Director and a member of the Nomination and Compensation Committee (Chair since 11 March 2015). During the past three years Mrs Field has also served as a director Aurizon Holdings Limited (director from 19 April 2012).

J Forwood

John Forwood, B.Sc (Hons) LlB (Hons), MAIG, MSEG, and MAusIMM

Mr Forwood is a qualified geologist and lawyer with extensive experience in equity markets and debt finance, with a particular focus on the junior resources sector.  He has spent the past 20 years as a specialist resources financier and fund manager.  His career in resource finance began with RMB Resources Ltd, (a division of Rand Merchant Bank) in Australia and the UK.  At RMB Resources he was a manager of the private Telluride Fund in Melbourne.  He is currently Chief Investment Officer of the ASX-listed Lowell Resources Fund.  Prior to joining RMB Resources in 1998, Mr Forwood worked as an exploration geologist, including positions with North Flinders Mines in the Northern Territory, East African Gold Mines in Tanzania, and Aberfoyle Limited in Indonesia.

Currently, Mr Forwood is not a director of any other publicly listed companies. He is however a director of a number of unlisted companies including Lowell Resources Funds Management Pty Ltd which is the investment manager of the Lowell Resources Fund, an ASX listed investment trust.

Tara Robson

Tara Robson, FGIA, B.A. Accounting (CPA – USA) – CFO, Company Secretary

Ms Robson was appointed company secretary on 8 April 2004. Before joining Sipa Resources Limited, she served as consultant to the Company. She has held a similar role with listed entities since 1997 including Anvil Mining Limited and Brockman Resources Limited. Prior to that Ms Robson was a senior audit manager with a major accounting practice.